top of page

The Zuckerberg Water Prize
offers a biannual award of $60,000

To acknowledge the outstanding achievements and global impact of an individual or organization in the broader field of Water.


The Zuckerberg Water Prize is an international award, and the Executive Committee welcomes the nomination of candidates researching, developing or implementing impactful and lasting water knowledge, solutions, management and policies all over the world.


Nominations will be evaluated by a panel of leading international experts comprising the Executive Committee of the Zuckerberg Institute. Members of the Executive Committee are foremost leaders in their fields and represent different disciplines, approaches, institutions and organizations within the global field of Water.


Nominations for the 2025 prize are open until November 1st, 2024. 

Nominated candidates are evaluated on the following criteria, with a focus on ensuring equal opportunities: 

hydrology conferences on water technologies

Outstanding Achievements
Lasting Significance

2024 Hydrology Conferences, Water scarcity in the developing countries

Public Advocacy

hydrology conferences, Research Israel

Academic, Technological
or Policy Research,
or International Development

hydrology conferences Israel

Leadership in Water Issues


Mr. Zuckerberg is the Honorary Chairman of the Zuckerberg Institute for Water Research (ZIWR), which leads interdisciplinary, cutting-edge research and advanced education in water sciences, aimed at improving human well-being in drylands through technologies and policies for sustainable use of water resources.

Mr. Zuckerberg is a past long-serving Chairman of the Board of Governors of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev in Israel and holds an honorary doctoral degree from the same university. A distinguished investment banker and philanthropist, Mr. Zuckerberg is a lifelong champion of education, and health and human services. The Zuckerberg Water Prize reflects the spirit of this ongoing commitment.

The award ceremony will take place during the biannual International Water Summit during which the recipient will deliver a plenary talk in their field of expertise and attend the full program. To further develop the reach, equity, and impact of this award, recipients are encouraged to donate $5,000 of the prize money to a water-related cause of their choice.


This legacy award is granted through the generous donation of Mr. Roy Zuckerberg, General Partner, Executive Committee member and Senior Director at Goldman Sachs Group Inc. and former Vice Chairman of the firm. He also serves as Trustee of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and is a member of its Executive Committee.

bottom of page